Mass Gainers = The Evolution of Bodybuilding Supplements

No scam, just logic. How Weight Gainers Benefit Bodybuilding.

Mansa Brice
4 min readNov 7, 2018

As I was surfing the internet looking for fitness supplements to review. I began to dig into the protein shake/mass gainer rabbit hole and came across a Medium post. I won’t call out names, I’m new to the platform & don’t want drama. I will say it was an individual who seems to have some background in the fitness industry.

The article dug into the fitness industry and labeled all mass gainers and weight gainer products as scams, my favorite bit was (I’m paraphrasing here) “they’re loaded with a bunch of stuff no one needs in their body and are costly.” Welcome to the fitness industry buddy.

I approach this topic as a certified personal trainer myself, with years of experience using weight gaining supplements and protein shakes. Here’s the obligatory photo evidence that I indeed workout.

Me, Ignore the whiskey in the background. It’s my Post-Workout ;)

He then goes into alternatives to weight gainers after “uncovering the scam that is weight gainers.”

Let me take some time to debunk his revelations. Let’s start with ingredients.

  1. Weight Gainers and Mass Gainers are just meal replacements

--

--

Mansa Brice

Personal Trainer, Super Tramp Vagabond, Sociology, Anthropology, Black Experiences, Dog Dad, Other Asstd Titles :)